The Tipitaka (Pali : ti "three" + pitaka "baskets"), also known as the Pali Canon, is the collection of primary Pali language texts which form the doctrinal foundation of Theravada Buddhism.
The Tipitaka and the post-canonical texts (commentaries, chronicles, etc.) together constitute the complete body of classical Theravada texts.

The three divisions of the Tipitaka are:

Vinaya Pitaka
The collection of texts concerning the rules of conduct governing the daily affairs within the Sangha -- the community of bhikkhu (ordained monks) and bhikkhuni (ordained nuns).
The Vinaya Pitaka also provides the origins of each rule, providing a detailed account of the Buddha's solution to the question of how to maintain communal harmony within a large and diverse spiritual community.

Sutta Pitaka
The collection of sutta, or discourses, attributed to the Buddha and a few of his closest disciples, containing all the central teachings of Theravada Buddhism.

The sutta are divided among five nikaya (collections) :

    1) Digha Nikaya (The Long Collection)
    2) Majjhima Nikaya (The Middle-length Collection)
    3) Samyutta Nikaya (The Grouped Collection)
    4) Anguttara Nikaya (The Numbered Collection)
    5) Khuddaka Nikaya (The Miscellaneous Collection)

The following books of the Khuddaka Nikaya were added later in history :

Abhidhamma Pitaka (Added later in history)
An analysis of the underlying doctrinal principles presented in the Sutta Pitaka are reworked and reorganized into a systematic framework that can be applied to an investigation into the nature of mind and matter.